Which region should I enter/nominate/vote in?

You should select the country in which you reside, or where your headquarters are based. The breakdown of countries in each category is…

18. UK & Ireland

19. South-West Europe

Albania, Czech Republic, Luxemburg, Serbia, Andorra, France, Macedonia, Slovakia, Austria, Greece, Malta, Slovenia, Belgium, Hungary, Monaco, Spain, Bulgaria, Israel, Portugal, Switzerland, Croatia, Italy, Romania, Turkey, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, San Marino

20. North-West Europe

Denmark, Lithuania, Sweden, Estonia, Iceland, Netherlands, Finland, Norway, Germany, Latvia, Poland.

21. Central Europe, Eastern Europe, Central Asia, South-East Asia

Armenia, Iran, Pakistan, Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Russia, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Hong Kong, Malaysia , Singapore, Brunei, India, Mongolia, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Indonesia, Myanmar, Thailand, China, People's Rep. Japan, Chinese Taipei, Korea, Philippines.

22. North America

Antigua, Canada, Jamaica, Virgin Islands, Barbados, Cayman Islands, Trinidad & Tobago, Bermuda, Haiti, United States of America.

23. Latin America

Colombia, El Salvador, Netherlands Antilles, Venezuela, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Cuba, Honduras, Panama, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay.

24. Africa and Middle East

Algeria, Kuwait, Palestine, Tunisia, Bahrain, Lebanon, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Libya, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Iraq, Morocco, Sudan, Jordan, Oman, Syria, Botswana, Madagascar, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Congo, Malawi, South Africa, Ethiopia, Mauritius, Swaziland, Kenya, Namibia, Zambia

25. Australia, New Zealand and Oceania

Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

How much does it cost to enter?

The Equestrian Digital Awards are free to enter. The ESMAs are also free during the allotted entry period, November 4 – 4pm (GMT) on December 5. Late entries will be accepted from December 9-20 but will be subject to a £50 admin charge.

How do I become a finalist?

For two weeks in December, the public can nominate their favourite equestrian businesses, personalities, charities and brands in the world of social media through this website, from the list of pre-registered entries.

How are the finalists picked?

Nominees will be subject to strict engagement criteria such as how quickly they respond to comments, post original content and demonstrate good online etiquette.

They must also show understanding of the terms of use for the social media platforms they use.

The top ten in each category with the most unique supporting statements will go through to the finals.

How are the winners chosen?

The voting stage will open mid January when the finalists with two prizes up for grabs in each category. The first will be the Judges’ Choice ESMA, decided by a panel of the global equestrian industry’s most talented marketers and media professionals; the second will be the People’s Choice ESMA, 100% decided by the public.

The panel is a hand-picked group of the best equestrian marketers, digital professionals, social media gurus and branding experts from across the globe.

If the Judges' Choice categories are tied, because two or more finalists have the same score, the three experts who judged the category will be asked to pick a winner. The finalist with two or more votes wins.

How is the World Award winner decided?

The winners of the regional categories are automatically in the running for the World Award.

The FEI's Director of Corporate Communications, Richard Johnson will lead in judging the overall winner.

How do you ensure judges' impartiality?

To ensure transparency members of the Expert Panel, full-time employers and Organisations owned by Expert Panel members are not eligible for nomination in any category.

Businesses which employ members of the Expert Panel on a freelance or part-time basis may be nominated.

Before finalists are announced Expert Panel members will be asked to declare any conflicts of interest; current/previous clients or; any other relationships deemed relevant. The task of judging those, will fall on other members.

Can sponsors be in the running?

No. To ensure transparency sponsors are not eligible for nomination in any category.

As a finalist, can I canvass for votes?

You may. But we recommend that you ask your fans/followers to submit votes in other categories too.

How are the winners announced?

In the spirit of social media, finalists will submit acceptance speech videos for inclusion in an online award ceremony.

This allows everyone to attend the award ceremony via the Equine Online Equestrian Social Media Awards' YouTube channel.

What criteria are the finalists judged by?

Judges and members of the public are asked to use the following criteria:

• Innovation – are they thinking outside the box?
• Individual – is their content original?
• Inspiration – are you compelled to act, buy or share?
• Interaction – do they involve fans/followers and encourage discussions?
• Information – is it accurate, interesting and useful to their audience?

Further considerations apply to the following:

a. For the category for Best use of Social Media by a Professional Horseperson the judges should use the criteria Item ‘Individual’ to gauge if they are posting as themselves.

b. For the category for Best Equestrian Social Networking Site or Forum judges and the public are asked to sign up for an account, become familiar with the platform and base their decision on the following:

• User-friendliness – can you find your feet quickly and get started?
• Is it fun?
• Sociability – can you easily share content with fellow users and the outside world?
• Business worthy – can you see its benefits for business?
• Would you stay and recommend that your friends join?